spacer
Resource Information
Unfortunately, I don't have all the answers to life's problems. I wish I did. As a result, I have put together some potential resources that also may give you some help. I can't personally vouch for the list of resources here, but if you need more assistance then check them out.
 
Regardless of whether I am of help to you or somebody else, my desire is that you are able to make progress in the struggles you are trying to overcome.
Resources
Resource Category/Name Website (click to visit) Phone
Adolescent Issues
American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry www.aacap.org 202.966.7300
Alcohol Addiction
Alcoholics Anonymous www.aa.org 212.870.3400
Anger Management
American Psychological Association www.apa.org 800.374.2721
Anxiety
Anxiety Disorders Association of America www.adaa.org 240.485.1011
Attention Deficit Disorder
Attention Deficit Disorder Association www.add.org 800.939.1019
Children and Adults with Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder www.chadd.org 800.306.7070
Bipolar Disorder
Bipolar Clinic and Research Program (free mood charts available) www.manicdepressive.org
Child and Adolescent Bipolar Foundation www.bpkids.org 847.256.8525
Juvenile Bipolar Research Foundation (offers Child Bipolar Questionnaire to help parents identify bipolar symptoms in children) www.jbrf.org 866.333.JBRF
Career Confusion
Career Planner (offers free personality test) www.careerplanner.com
Depression
National Institute of Mental Health Information Line www.nimh.nih.gov 800.647.2642
Dissociative Disorder
WebMD www.webmd.com
Eating Disorders
National Eating Disorders Association www.nationaleatingdisorders.org
Grief
Fernside www.fernside.org 513.745.0111
RENEW www.renew.net 859.968.7878
The Compassionate Friends www.compassionatefriends.org 877.969.0010
Mental Health
American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry www.aacap.org 202.966.7300
Mental Health America (formerly National Mental Health Association) www.nmha.org 800.969.6642
National Alliance for the Mentally Ill (NAMI) www.nami.org 800.950.NAMI or 840.950.6264
National Institute of Mental Health Information Line www.nimh.nih.gov 800.647.2642
Obsessions/Compulsions
Obsessive Compulsive Foundation www.ocfoundation.org 617.973.5804
Panic Attacks
Anxiety Disorders Association of America www.adaa.org 240.485.1001
eMedicine Health www.emedicinehealth.com
National Institute of Mental Health www.nimh.nih.gov 866.615.6464
Parental Problems
One Tough Job www.onetoughjob.org
Post Traumatic Stress
Anxiety Disorders Association of America www.adaa.org 240.485.1001
National Center for Post Traumatic Stress Disorder www.ncptsd.org 802.296.6300
Self-Injurious Behavior
Cornell Research Program on Self-Injurious Behavior www.crpsib.com
Sex Abuse
RAINN www.rainn.org 800.656.HOPE (4673)
Sexual Addictions
Medicine Net www.medicinenet.com
Sleep Disorders
American Sleep Apnea Association www.sleepapnea.org 202.293.3650
Sleep Net www.sleepnet.com
Spouse Abuse/Neglect
Help Guide www.helpguide.org
Substance Abuse
National Institute on Drug Abuse www.nida.nih.gov
Suicide
Suicidal thoughts represent an emergency situation. If you are having suicidal thoughts, immediately call 911, or (800) SUICIDE or (800)784-2433. 911
Suicide Prevention, Awareness and Support www.suicide.org
©AskDrGordon.com